Terrence Holford and Thunder win first heat; Scott Abrahamson and Eagle boy win second heat 

OMAK – Elimination races would be needed to whittle the field of 33 horses and jockeys down to 20.

In the first elimination race, Tyler Peasley (Colville tribal member) on Jake and Riley Prescott (Colville tribal descendant) on Black Shay were neck-and-neck as they two made their way from the top of the hill, all the way to the bottom.

At the bottom, Peasley and Jake took a spill as they hit the water. Prescott and Black Shay jumped out to the lead and begin to cross the Okanogan.

But it would be Terrence Holford (Colville tribal member) and Thunder that would go on to place first in the first elimination race on Sunday afternoon.

Prescott and Black Shay placed third and Fran Marchand on Big Man placed third.

“I feel really good coming into this year’s race,” said Prescott. “Been working on some stuff with this horse and it felt good being out front with a veteran horse who’s pretty tough coming off the hill.”

Prescott and Black Shay placed second overall last year as the duo has another year under their belt. Black Shay is owned by David “Babe” Palmer.

Abrahamson and Eagle Boy coast to first place

OMAK - Defending four-time champion Scott Abrahamson and Eagle Boy punched their ticket to next week’s Suicide Race, after taking home first place in the second elimination race on Sunday afternoon.

As they crossed over the hill and passed the first light pole, Eagle and Abrahamson were sitting in fourth place.

 That wouldn’t be the case for much longer as they begin to make their way down the hill, making up ground.

 By the time they passed the third light pole, Eagle Boy and moved into first place.

They would go on to pass the big grey horse Onyx and Oliver Pakootas as they made their way into the water.

 Abrahamson guided Eagle Boy to their spot as they were they first to make it to the water, they would be the first out of the water.

Once Eagle Boy got begin to make his way to the dike, they had built up a large lead and would go on to win the second elimination race.

Loren Marchand and Augustus took second and Oliver Pakkotas and Onyx took third.

“Yesterday’s elimination races were quick,” said Pete Palmer, President of the Owners and Jockeys Association. “There were a couple of spills, but no horses were seriously injured.  A few jockeys got some pretty good scrapes and bruises, but they are tough.”

 The top 10 from the first heat will be moving on to this year’s Suicide Race, set to begin on Thursday evening.


Listed below are the results for the first elimination race;

 Place – Jockey – Horse – Owner or owners

1st – Terrence Holford – Thunder – (Casey & Tracy Nissen)

2nd – Riley Prescott – Black Shay – (David “Babe” Palmer)

3rd – Fran Marchand – Big Man – (Doug Seymour)

4th – Chance Carson – Duranimal – (Smoker Anne and Zoe Marchand)

5th – Rocky Timentwa –Houdini– (Jim Best / Ivory Ford)

6th – Tarren Meusy – Lonesome – (George Marchand)

7th – Josh Cate – Warbonnet – (Lacy and PJ Pakootas)

8th – Jasper Abrahamson – Red Line – (Jake and Bird Taylor)

9th – Mose Ives – Spirit – (Milo Pakootas Sr..)

10th – Josh Harry – Dale – (John Pakootas Sr.)


Listed below are the results for the second elimination race;

 Place – Jockey – Horse – Owner or owners

1st – Scott Abrahamson – Eagle Boy (Scott Abrahamson)

2nd – Loren Marchand – Augustus (Loren Marchand / Mike and Sheri Jones)

3rd – Oliver Pakootas – Onyx – ()Shawnee and Oliver Pakootas)

4th – Josian Desautel – Blur – (Tim Holt / Tyler Peasley)

5th – Danny Trevino – Digger – (Danny Trevino)

6th – Andrew Whiteman – Dirty Dan – (Casey NIssen)

7th – Fran Marchand – Schitzo Lenny – (Lacy and PJ Pakootas

8th – Edward Marchand – Jackpot – (Bronson Peterson)

9th – Steven Ford – Mufasa – Zane Marchand / Leslie Herman

10th – Gabe Moses – Julio – Annette Moses


Below is a list of the 20 jockeys and horses that have qualified for this year’s Suicide Race;

Horse  –        Jockey     – (Owner or Owners)

Augustus – Loren Marchand – (Loren Marchand, Mike and Sheri Jones)

Big Man -                              - (Doug Seymour)

Black Shay – Riley Presscott – (David “Babe” Palmer)

Blur - Josiah Desautel – (Tim Holt / Tyler Peasley)

Chief – Conner Picking – (Louis Castro)

Dale – Mike Harry – (John Pakootas Sr.)

Digger – Danny Trevino – (Danny Trevino)

Dirty DanAndrew Whiteman – (Cassey Nissen)

Duranimal – Chance Carson – (Smoker, Anne, Zoe Marchand)

Eagle Boy – Scott Abrahamson – (Scott Abrahamson)

Houdini – Rocky Timentwa – (Jim Best and Ivory Ford)

Jackpot – Edward Marchand – (Bronson Peterson)

Lonesome – Tarren Meusy – (George Marchand)

Mufasa – Steven Ford – (Zane Marchand/Leslie Herman)

Onyx – Oliver Pakootas – (Shawnee and Oliver Pakootas)

Redline – Jasper Abrahamson – (Jake Taylor)

Schitzo Lenny – Francis Marchand – (Lacy and PJ Pakootas)

Spirit – Mose Ives – (Milo Pakootas)

Thunder – Terrence Holford – (Casey Nissen)

Warbonnet – Josh Cate – (Lacy and PJ Pakootas)



Wind Walker – Audrey Seymour – (Audrey Seymour)

Dillinger – Henry LaCourse – (Kevin LaCourse)

Chisum – Rich Terbasket – (Skeeter and Rich Terbasket)

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.